Please report any broken links or trouble you might come across to the Webmaster. Please take a moment to let us know so that we can correct any problems and make your visit as enjoyable and as informative as possible.

NavSource Online: "Old Navy" Ship Photo Archive

USS Sidney C. Jones

Awards, Citations and Campaign Ribbons

Civil War Medal

  • Built, date and location unknown
  • Launched, date unknown
  • Purchased by the Navy, 7 October 1861, at New York City
  • Commissioned USS Sidney C. Jones, 29 January 1862, at New York Navy Yard, Acting Master Robert Adams in command
  • Assigned to CDR. David Porter's Mortar Flotilla, USS Sidney C. Jones sailed for the Gulf of Mexico crossing over the bar into the Mississippi River at Pass a 1' Outr, 18 March
  • The schooner participated in the bombardment of Forts St. Philip and Jackson below New Orleans in April allowing Flag Officer David Farragut's Squadron to pass the forts on 24 April forcing the surrender of the city
  • Sidney C. Jones sailed with the mortar flotilla again ascending the Mississippi and participating in the bombardment of Vicksburg
  • The schooner ran aground sometime after Farragut's ships pressed north past Vicksburg on 28 June
  • Still high and dry on 15 July when the Confederate ironclad ram, CSS Arkansas, raced down the Yazoo River, by Farragut's ships, and taking refuge under the Confederate guns at Vicksburg, Sidney C. Jones was destroyed to prevent her falling into Confederate hands
    Displacement 254 t
    Length 98'
    Beam 27'
    Draft unknown
    Depth of Hold 7'8"
    Speed unknown
    Complement unknown
    one 13" mortar
    two 32-pdrs
    Propulsion sail

    Click On Image
    For Full Size Image
    Size Image Description Contributed
    Westfield 103k "Commander Porter's Mortar Flotilla".
    Line engraving published in "Harper's Weekly", 1862, depicting the mortar schooner flotilla commanded by David Dixon Porter during the April 1862 attack on the forts below New Orleans.
    Vessels shown are (from left to right):
    USS Westfield,
    USS Adolph Hugel,
    USS Para,
    USS William Bacon,
    USS Oliver H. Lee,
    USS C.P. Williams,
    USS Henry Janes,
    USS George Mangham,
    USS Racer,
    USS Horace Beals,
    USS Sarah Bruen,
    USS Samuel Rotan,
    USS John Griffith,
    USS Rachel Seaman,
    USS Maria J. Carlton,
    USS Sidney C. Jones,
    USS T.A. Ward,
    USS Sea Foam,
    USS Maria A. Wood,
    USS Octorara (Porter's flagship) and
    USS Matthew Vassar.
    US Naval History and Heritage Command Photo # NH 59061
    Robert Hurst

    USS Sidney C. Jones
    Dictionary of American Naval Fighting Ships (DANFS)
    Back To The Navsource Photo Archives Main Page Back To The "Old Navy" Ship Photo Index
    Comments, Suggestions, E-mail Webmaster.
    This page is created and maintained by Gary P. Priolo
    All pages copyright NavSource Naval History
    Last Updated 12 May 2017